Welcome to the Kaw Nation

Huch and Kekahbah sworn in

IMG_5841 IMG_5846Chairwoman Elaine Huch and Tribal Council member Erin Kekahbah were sworn into office at the Kaw City headquarters on Nov. 5. Huch had edged three-term incumbent Guy Munroe by two votes to win a run-off for chair, 133-131.

“I would like to thank all of you for your support,” she said in a speech following the ceremony. “I would also like to thank Guy Munroe for his more than 10 years of service.”

Huch had served as Tribal Council secretary from 2012 to 2014 before being elected to lead Kaw Nation.

Kekahbah won her run-off against Clark Pepper 143-119 to earn a second term on the Tribal Council. She was first elected in a special election in 2011.

Kekahbah is the second Tribal Council member to be reelected after the 2011 Constitution, which states that Tribal Council members may serve two consecutive terms before waiting two years to run again.

I would like to…